Food Device Design Derby Challenge: JavAqua!

Introduction

Nothing like a cup of Java first thing in the morning to get your creative juices going. However, I am too lazy to fill the water container in our coffee maker multiple times a day. So, I made JavAqua.

Hi, my name is Masoud Hamidian. My day job is in healthcare but electronics has been my primary hobby since I was a little kid and I’ve been making things since childhood. JavAqua is an automatic coffee maker water container fill device. It monitors the height of the water column in the coffee maker using a hydrostatic resistive sensor (eTape sensor) and based on the configurable water height levels, it will fill the water container to the desired level. It includes a menu system through an OLED screen and buttons for managing activity and preset levels.

There are other cheap kits available on amazon and elsewhere for this purpose that are just basic float valves which are primitive and dangerous. If the valve gets stuck there is a real risk of flooding. JavAqua, on the other hand has several safety features that reduce that risk significantly.

Case

Description

The system is comprised of a single PCB that contains all the components, buttons, OLED screen and connectors for power, water level sensor, water flow sensor and the solenoid valves. The PCB, flow meter and solenoid valves are mounted in a plastic enclosure with cutouts for water input and output hoses, power connector, buttons and the OLED screen. The buttons and the OLED screen are covered by a 3D printed face bezel for aesthetics. The water level sensor is placed within the coffee maker water container and connected to the box via a 3-wire cable. The water input hose is connected through a water filter to the house water system (usually a tap from the refrigerator ice maker water pipe). The water output hose is routed inside the coffee make water container attached to the side of the water level sensor.

PCB